The April 2016 24 Hour Readathon!

DEWEYs.pngToday’s the day! Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon starts in just a couple of minutes. I’m going to primarily be posting on my Twitter and Instagram, so if you thirst for hourly updates of my book devouring — follow me over there! This blog post will mostly house mini-challenges, if I participate in them, and a few overall updates at crucial hours.

I hope everybody’s got their water, their snacks, and their book stacks ready to go! Have a great readathon, you guys. 🙂

Opening Meme

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?

Southwest Florida, where there’s sure to be temperamental weather that swings between chilly, overcast, threatening thunderstorms and sweltering hot angrily glaring sunshine. *thumbs up*

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?

I’m starting with Neil Gaiman’s The Sleeper and the Spindle, which is a book I got for Christmas that I still haven’t managed to crack open. I’m excited!

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?

I’ve been promised tacos and root beer at some point today and, ngl, I’m already fantasizing.

4) Tell us a little something about yourself!

My name’s Christina, I’m a 26 year old cat lady, and I’m a writer who is responsibly blowing off Camp NaNoWriMo today in order to binge read all of the books!!

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?

I’ve participated in quite a few of these things, and I’ve never managed to make it the full 24 hours — that’s something I’m really going to try to do this year. And, as always, my ultimate goal is to spend an hour reading on my stationary bike so I can get some exercise in. (Year after year I promise myself I’m going to do this, heh, heh, hehhhh…)

~ * ~

Hour 1 (8 am)

I've got Neil Gaiman, a muffin, and Cookie Monster pants. I'm ready for this 24 hour #readathon to begin!

A post shared by Christina (@yellowhairedrobot) on

Shortly after I set up shop on my front porch, a party of about forty kids came sprinting down the street to play in the park — screaming children makes for some great background noise, doesn’t it?

Books Read: The Sleeper and the Spindle, by Neil Gaiman. What a twist! I was not expecting that. A beautiful little story.

Pages Read: 66

Currently Reading: I’m going to read either Fine, Fine, Fine, Fine, Fine by Diane Williams or this census-taker by China Miéville.

 

~ * ~

Hour 2 (9 am)

Finished The Sleeper and the Spindle, these are my next #readathon picks!

A post shared by Christina (@yellowhairedrobot) on

Books Read: Started China Miéville’s this census-taker. (Tried reading Fine, but couldn’t get into it.)

Books Finished: 1

Pages Read: 65

Total Pages Read: 131

Currently Reading: Going into Hour 3, I’m still working on census-taker. I can’t say I understand a single thing that’s happening, but I think it’s pretty good so far?

~ * ~

Hour 3 (10 am)

Books Read: Still knee-deep in This Census-Taker. I have no idea what’s going on.

Books Finished: 1

Pages Read: 52 (Would’ve read more, but I took a break to cook and devour an omelette.)

Total Pages Read: 183

Currently Reading: I’m on page 117 of This Census-Taker. I don’t think I can finish it in the next hour, but I’m hoping to get pretty close! I’ve decided that at the close of Hour 4, at noon, I’m going to take an exercise break. Hopefully I’ll stick to that…

Hour 4 (11 am)

Books Read: Finished This Census-Taker.

Books Finished: 2

Pages Read: 89

Total Pages Read: 272

Next up? I’m taking an exercise break, so I’ll have to see what appeals to me afterwards!

Hour 8 (3 pm)

Long time, no update! I had a nice exercise hour that left me suitably sore, I received some book mail that I’m very excited to dive into, and my mom brought out some guacamole! For the last couple hours, I’ve just been sitting in the front yard, enjoying the sunshine and general breezy perfectness of today’s weather. (try not to turn too green with envy.) I’ve been reading The Shock of the Fall — this is one absorbing book. I was floored to look up and find it was almost 3!

Books Finished: 2

Pages Read: Since Hour 4, 129

Total Pages Read: 401

Next up? It’s going to take me a few more hours to finish The Shock of the Fall, two at least. I’ve had a few things to eat today, but I’d like to scrounge up some actual lunch eventually, too…

~ * ~

Hour 11 (6 pm)

We ordered in tacos and, let’s just say, I ate my fill. And then some. So glad I had the foresight to throw in some exercise time.

Books Finished: 3! Just finished The Shock of the Fall, which was kinda amazing. And heart-wrenching.

Pages Read: Since Hour 8, 178

Total Pages Read: 579. I had a tentative goal of reading 1,000 pages over the course of the readathon and … I might just make it? Let me not get too cocky, but I’m over halfway there before the halfway point … that’s promising!

Next Up? I got some exciting bookmail today — The Vegetarian and The Blizzard, which are both a little over 100 pages, which should be good for a readathon! I’m going to sample from those, see if they might strike my interest.

Hour 14 (9 pm)

How is it already 9 pm?? I can hardly wrap my brain around that. How’s everyone doing? I’ve just had a shower to rejuvenate and am feeling … okayThe Shock of the Fall was so high-interest everything else I’ve been trying to read has paled in comparison. Plus, it finally got too dark outside to read, unless I sit scrunched under the porch light, enduring the June bugs. I need to switch over to my Kindle, but I want to finish the book I’m reading first!

At Hour 12, Dewey’s had their Mid Event Survey, so let me post my answers to that:

Mid Event Survey

1. What are you reading right now? The Blizzard by Vladimir Sorokin
2. How many books have you read so far? I’ve finished 3 books!
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? I’d like to get into Nod, as it’s a book about society falling apart when people lose the ability to fall asleep — I can’t tell if it’ll keep me awake or make me SUPER tired, but it seems really fitting for the twilight hours of the ‘thon.
4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? SO MANY. *Everyone* has wanted to stop by and have a chat today. I’ve probably been ruder than I needed to be. But come on, people, you’ve known for weeks that today was my readathon day and I didn’t want to be disturbed! For ONE day!
5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? I’ve felt more awake and motivated in this readthon than I ever have before. That’s been pretty shocking!

So, real quick, the update as it stands now:

Books Read: 3

Pages Read: 654

See you in another hour!

~*~

Hour 15 (10 pm)

Oof. First dud of the day. I did not enjoy The Blizzard. There was no ending whatsoever — I was promised a zombie plague in a fantasy world and got some angry old men in a snow mobile repeatedly driving off the road during a blizzard. And some Creative Writing 101 stream of conscious dream sequences that were just embarrassing. Bleh. Picking my next read very carefully, I’d rather not have the whole night soured by this.

Books Read: 4

Pages Read: 760

 

 

2 thoughts on “The April 2016 24 Hour Readathon!

Leave a Reply

