How to Conquer A 24 Hour Readathon

Dewey’s October 24 Hour Readathon is finally upon us. Are you pumped? It’s three minutes until the starting gun fires (figuratively, we’re readers, we do things quietly) and I’m trying to finish my last minute preparations. Knocking back a yogurt. Brushing my teeth. Putting up this blogpost. Finally getting a pic of my readathon TBR.

So, how exactly do you conquer a 24 hour readathon?

I think the biggest advice I can give you lovely book dragons is to be forgiving to yourself. Pace your reading. Drop books that aren’t holding your attention. Take naps. Drink lakes worth of water. Eat all the snacks.

Also, don’t compare your progress to anyone else’s.  There’s always going to be someone reading faster than you, someone who plows through thirty books in a single readathon and leaves you in a dust of torn, fluttering paper. Don’t worry about it. This readathon is about you, books, and the uniting of a community of readers. It’s not about blog stats, it’s not about retweets and favorites, and it isn’t about achieving the highest page count. It’s about reading.

And, most importantly, have fun! Choose exciting books; get up every hour and play some music; leave comments on other blogs; participate in the mini-challenges, cheer on strangers via twitter; instagram every book you open today. Approach this readathon with a good attitude, and you’ll have the time of your life. Promise.

PINK lineNow, let me take a quick second to do the INTRODUCTORY SURVEY. And then — I’m hitting the books!

What fine part of the world are you reading from today?

Southwest Florida, on a surprisingly chilly morning! (Which, I’m sure, won’t stay this way for long.)

Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?

I’m really excited to finish The Marvels, by Brian Selznick. Also, I’ve only read one other Clive Barker book, so this should be fun!

Which snack are you most looking forward to?

Oh, girl. I packed myself a whole ~lunchbox~ yesterday. A southwestern salad with fried chicken and candied pecans, gluten free pretzels & a cheese stick, chocolate covered blueberries. I’m ready for this.

Tell us a little something about yourself!

HI! My name is Christina, and I’ve been participating in readathons for years now. I’ve never quite accomplished the “24” hour part, but I’m basically looking forward to a long day of decompressing, relaxing, and immersing myself in books.

If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?

I’m not going to focus on blogging so much (I say, as I blog.) Trying to do an update every hour eats up a LOT of reading time. You’ll find me primarily on Twitter and Instagram.

PINK line

Okay, my dragons, it’s time for me to get reading. (lol 11 minutes past the start of the hour. I’m late even when I’m early.) Have fun today!!!!

Leave a Reply

