Dewey’s Readathon — Mid Event Survey

dewey readathonAs shocked as I was when we made it to Hour 12, I was even more shocked when Hour 12 passed in the blink of an eye and I hadn’t done the mid-event survey yet!

I’ve had a pretty good readathon so far, though I accidentally took a nap around 3 o’clock (and kept getting distracted by NEEDLESS CONVERSATIONS WITH NON-BOOK-READING HUMANS). Still! Books have been devoured! Laughs have been laughed! MANY TEARS HAVE BEEN SHED.

Without further ado, the Mid Event Survey:

1. What are you reading right now?

I’m knocking back More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera. (I had a big TBR pile of spooky October-y reads planned, and ended up in an LGBT YA marathon instead. SORRY NOT SORRY.)

The Hellbound Heart was just TOO INTENSE for ten o’clock in the morning. (and, maybe, ever?)

2. How many books have you read so far?

Two! The Marvels by Brian Selznick. (oh my god, do I cry), and Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli, which was delightful.

3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?

I really do want to read something spooky, so I have that Yellow Wallpaper short story everyone talks about that I’d like to give a whirl.

4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?

Ugh, so many interruptions. So many people launching into huge conversations with me. How come when you’re sitting around the house reading, people assume, “oh, they’re just sitting around reading, they’re not doing anything, time to glom onto them and tell long, loud personal stories”???

5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?

Hmmm, I don’t know that I’ve been necessarily surprised by anything. It’s been moving SUPER fast, that’s for sure! Also, I guess I’ve been happily surprised by my interest in the books I’m reading. I think I normally pick too dense, too slow books for readathons, and get burnt out? This year, I stuck with YA, and those are the kind of books perfect for a readathon. Quick-paced, high interest, action packed (and, in the case of my selection, hella gay, which is always a preferably quality in a thing.) ANYWAY.

PINK line

How’s your readathon been faring? Gotten burnt out yet? DID ANYONE ELSE RANDOMLY TAKE A MID-DAY NAP BECAUSE LUNCH WAS APPARENTLY SO EXHAUSTING? 

One thought on “Dewey’s Readathon — Mid Event Survey

  1. I was asleep (because it’s 3am in the UK) but then had to get up to put a little one back to bed and now can’t get back to sleep so might get up and read some more!
    Totally know where you’re coming from on the burnout though. I read 250 pages so far but because I picked Queen of Shadows I have yet to finish one book! The Yellow Wallpaper is great,I hope you enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

