Ten Beloved Book Nerds

toptentuesdayToday’s Tuesday Top 10, the weekly blogger link-up hosted by BrokeandBookish, is all about characters very close to my heart: the wordsmiths, the writers, the bibliophiles, the book nerds. I did something really similar to this in the past — 10 Characters I Would Totally Share a Library With. So, even though characters like Hermione and Fangirl’s Cath should obviously be on everyone’s list of favorite book worms, I’m going to do my best to choose ten new characters who found their solace, or their destruction, in books…

o1. Annie Wilkes from Misery. YOU EVER BEEN SO MUCH OF A BOOK NERD YOU KIDNAPPED YOUR FAVORITE AUTHOR AND HELD HIM HOSTAGE JUST SO HE’D WRITE YOU ANOTHER NOVEL?

number1

I think we can all empathize, just a little, with Annie’s total mental break when her favorite author killed off her favorite character. I don’t think most of us would quite go to Annie’s lengths … but I think a few fellow bookworms have considered it.

cityofdreamingbookso2.Optimus Yarnspinner, The City of Dreaming Books. No one can deny Optimus Yarnspinner’s love of the written word:

“I read on. The author’s way of writing was so absolutely right, so perfect, that tears sprang to my eyes–something that usually happens only when I’m listening to stirring music. There was an unearthly finality about its grandeur. Sobbing unrestrainedly, I continued to read through a veil of tears until a new idea of the writer’s tickled me so much that my tears abruptly ceased and I roared with laughter.”

“I uttered a jubilant cry and clapped my paws several times, but I would sooner have underlined each sentence twice in red and written ‘Yes! Yes! Precisely!’ in the margin. I still remember kissing every word of every sentence that particularly pleased me.”

I want to underline THIS with red and write “Yes! Precisely!” in the margins! Optimus Yarnspinner sets out for the City of Dreaming Books to find the author of this beloved, seemingly anonymous manuscript, and soon becomes lost in a vast underground catacomb absolutely piled with forgotten or hidden books. He’s basically living all of our dreams.

parisbookshopo3. Monsieur Perdu, The Little Paris Bookshop. This guy fixes people with books in his barge-turned-bookstore, the Literary Apothecary. He’s a lover of words and writing and firm believer in the healing power of books. He can speak to someone for a few minutes, hear the pain, want, or need in their voices, diagnose their ills, and prescribe just the right books.

“Perdu reflected that it was a common misconception that booksellers looked after books.

They look after people.”

o4. Belle, The Beauty and the Beast.

bellebooks

I MEAN. I can’t not include Belle. (Technically, I’ve never read any actual literary versions of Beauty and the Beast, but a book nerd like Belle in a library like the Beast’s? I’d totally forgive the hostage-situation too. Maybe. Kinda.)

(okay probably not.)

(by the way, recommend me good literary adaptations of Beauty and the Beast!!)

o5. Oscar de Leon, The Brief Wondrous Lioscarwaofe of Oscar Wao. Oscar obsessively loves sci fi and fantasy novels, romanticizes the life of a protagonist, and in pursuit of an adventure, a story worth telling, he … well. Things don’t turn out so great. But if ever there was a book nerd worth honoring, it’s Oscar.

06. Klaus Baudelaire, A Series of Unfortunate Events. HOW DID I LEAVE OUT KLAUS LAST TIME? A voracious reader who remembers everything, and uses his booksmarts to get out of countless scrapes! A book nerd for the ages!

o7. Guy Montag, Fahrenheit 451. A book-burner turned burgeoning bookworm who violently tears himself out of society once he realizes that books, knowledge, and art are worth defending!

o8. Queen Elizabeth in The Uncommon Reader. FIRST OF ALL, THIS BOOK IS ADORABLE. It’s a slim little wisp of a book, but it’s got the cuteness mass of a thousand corgis in bow ties. Queen Elizabeth wanders out of her palace one day to visit a mobile library, and soon becomes so intoxicatingly and obsessively hooked on books, she neglects all her queen-ly obligations.

and, from two books that I desperately need to finish…

inkandbone

o9. Jess of Ink and Bone. Okay, so I’m only thirty or so pages into this story, but the premise seems to be a world in which the Library rules all, and the main character runs illicit, banned books to secret underground buyers. (This book is so up my alley.) Sounds like a book nerd to me!

1o. Daniel, from The Shadow in the Wind. I NEED TO FINISH THIS BOOK. I mean, look at this description: Daniel, an antiquarian book dealer’s son who mourns the loss of his mother, finds solace in a mysterious book entitled The Shadow of the Wind, by one Julián Carax. But when he sets out to find the author’s other works, he makes a shocking discovery: someone has been systematically destroying every copy of every book Carax has written. A bookworm ardently seeking out the work of a beloved author — that, I can identify with.

PINK line

So, those are some of my favorite characters whose noses may or may not exist deeply wedged in the pages of books. Link me to your lists, or else tell me in the comments — who are your favorite literary bookworms?

Have you ever considered kidnapping your favorite author just to get a rewrite of a beloved character’s death scene?

If you were trapped in book-lined underground catacombs, what genre of books would you burn first for light and warmth???

And, the most important question of all, does the Beast’s super mega awesome library make up for the whole kidnapping thing??

lol, some food for thought. Leave a comment, let’s talk!

6 thoughts on “Ten Beloved Book Nerds

  1. You’re reading Ink and Bone??? *jealous* I’ve read so many positive reviews for it that I need to get that book soon. As in now . *lol*

    I didn’t do a TTT on bookworm characters, but the first ones that come to mind are…

    Hermoine Granger from the Harry Potter series
    Samwell Tarly from Game of Thrones / A Song of Ice and Fire
    George from Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane
    Liesel Meminger from Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief

    Like

Leave a Reply

