The Moments I Look Forward To Whenever I Reread Harry Potter

hp-reread

The theme for this round’s Harry Potter Moment of the Week (over on Uncorked Thoughts) is Most Anticipated Moment. I’m not sure if this meant things we were looking forward to as we initially read the series or not (like Harry defeating Voldemort, or certain characters hooking up), but I decided to take it in a slightly different direction and talk about the moments I look forward to when I reread the books.

Because I reread these books all the time. Basically, at any given moment, no matter what books are stacked on my nightstand or even open on my lap, you can be sure I’m rereading some Harry Potter book as well. Right now, I think I’m around the Quidditch World Cup in Goblet of Fire. What can I say — I love reading Harry Potter! It’s a total comfort book, an easy way to charge my creative batteries, and just makes me happy.

So! I’ve noticed that whenever I get really into an HP book, there’s always some specific sentence or moment I’m really looking forward to reaching and reliving again. My toes start to wiggle, I sit forward a little in my seat, I get all jumpy and excited, like I’m in a car and the roadsigns are confirming we’re almost at our final destination. Here are those scenes, in order:

1. Neville wins his 10 points in Philosopher’s Stone

hp_neville

Cue immediate tears. Book or movie, this scene slaughters me. I love Neville getting his moment, I love Dumbledore for giving it to him, I love everybody in this Great Hall. 

2. Ron finds out Ginny is in the Chamber of Secrets 

hp_ronslide

That moment of dread when you realize Slytherin’s monster has taken Ginny is awful enough, but the moment Ron reacts, slowly sliding down the wall, always sends a sick feeling right into my gut. (Also, Chamber of Secrets is a surprisingly suspenseful, scary book! Every time I reread it, I’m like, DAMN THIS IS SO MUCH DARKER THAN I REMEMBER.)

3. Dumbledore talks to Harry about his Patronus in Prisoner of Azkaban

hp-prongslarger

*incoherent screaming muffled by a pillow* Dumbledore’s assurance to Harry that his father still lives inside of him, that he protects Harry to this day in the form of Harry’s very particular Patronus, never fails to bring a wibbly wobbly sheen of tears to my eyes.

4. The entire second task in Goblet of Fire

hp-gof-fixed

Whenever I’m trying to write and want a little inspiration in the form of something creepy and atmospheric, I always go to the Second Task in Goblet of Fire. For some reason, it’s always been a favorite for me. When I read it, I can almost see the rippling weeds and feel the silence of being underwater pressing on my ears

5. Peeves salutes Fred and George in Order of the Pheonix

hp-gredforge

HOW WONDERFUL IS THIS ENTIRE SCENE, FIRST OF ALL. But, even though Fred and George defying Umbridge and literally flying off into the sunset is great, my favorite bit, the bit that always makes me wiggle my toes anxiously and turn the pages all the faster to get to, is Peeves taking the order from the twins. I don’t even know, you guys. That sign of respect, the promise of all out hell, gets to me every time.

6. Harry shows his loyalty in Half Blood Prince

hp-dumbledoresman

I’ll admit, the first time I read HBP, I wasn’t the book’s biggest fan. It’s only been on rereads that I’ve come to really love this moment, where Harry blurts out what, to him, is an obvious truth: he’s utterly loyal to Dumbledore, through and through. (That Dumbledore should be emotionally touched by this blind devotion, considering, as we find out in DH, he’s basically been grooming Harry for the slaughter this whole time, is another matter entirely,.)

7. The Forest Again in DEathly Hallows

hp-dh

Because I always know that’s when I’m going to start crying.

PINK line

So, there you have it. My most anticipated “omg omg we’re almost at that part” moments in each Harry Potter book. What are your favorite moments in HP? Or, do you have other books that you reread just to get to that one specific scene or sentence, just to relive that moment? Tell me about them! And if you did this HP moment of the week, throw me a link in the comments!

16 thoughts on “The Moments I Look Forward To Whenever I Reread Harry Potter

  1. Omg this is awesome! As a self-proclaimed HP fan I’ve only read each book thrice! :O One of my most favourite sections in the entire series are the final chapters of Prisoner of Azkaban. The final reveal of Sirius’s past, Hermione and Harry going back in time, everything’s so brilliantly handled by JKR that it never fails to amaze me to this day!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yess, POA has such an amazing ending. I went to a panel at a Harry Potter convention once that broke down all the Sirius & Peter clues from the opening chapters and showed how it all came together in the last pages of the Shrieking Shack — I was so impressed by how intricate and deliberate Prisoner of Azkaban’s plotting was. Amazing!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Harry Potter books make the best rereads, if you ask me. All of those clues that one doesn’t notice the first time, hit you in the face on repeated readings!

        Like

  2. I completely agree with you. The other day, I was randomly thinking about moments from Chamber of Secrets and got SO EMOTIONAL. I always like to go back and reread them. It’s such a huge comfort and inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lots of people count Chamber of Secrets as their least favorite HP book, and I just DO NOT AGREE. There’s so much suspense and drama, and everyone’s such BABIES. Gah, I love doing Harry Potter rereads — so many feels.

      Like

  3. Honestly I don’t think I could pick just a couple of moments from the HP series! Haha, it’s all just so brilliant that it’s hard for me to pinpoint just a few of my favourite scenes. One of them, I think, would have to be when Ron finds out Ginny is in the chambers. So. INTENSE.

    Like

    1. Oh, I know, I’m sure if I tried I could choose ten or twenty moments from every book that I absolutely love (and probably way, way more.) And yes! CoS is super intense! I remember my little preteen heart STOPPING when we found out Ginny had been taken.

      Like

  4. Faye M.

    Geez, woman, this post pretty much brought chills down my spine. Harry Potter is such a phenomenal series and it’s full of scenes that made me laugh and cry. I don’t think I could ever find another series as excellent and immersive and awesome as this. I am still wishing there would be a spin-off in the future. The scenes you provided here just made me even want them even more!

    Faye at The Social Potato

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Fun post! I really like how you included the quotes 🙂 #2, 6, and 7 get me EVERY SINGLE TIME oh my gosh. I totally need a reread now! For me, I dread getting to all the sad parts 😦 Let’s see, a moment I look forward to would be in Mortal Heart by RL LaFevers when the main character finally realizes someone’s identity. CHILLS

    Like

  6. I love this! The ‘Dumbledore’s man through and through’ bit always gets me. Although, you don’t think about how harsh Harry is to Scrimgeour until the last book, when you hear that he’s been tortured and stayed loyal to Harry at the end – there’s just so many layers to it all! Great post 🙂

    Like

    1. You know, until you said this, I totally forgot about Scrimgeour’s fate! I love how even some of the most unpleasant characters are given a chance at some sympathy and redemption.

      Like

  7. Pingback: Books & Blogging in May (a wild wrap up appears) | christina writes

  8. Pingback: I would watch this. LET ME WATCH THIS. (top ten books that NEED to be movies or mini-series) | christina writes

  9. Pingback: Saturday Sharing - blogging tools and more - The Geeky Shopaholic

Leave a Reply

