Problems Every Reader Can Relate To

Sara Letourneau tagged me in the Reader Problems Tag, a fun list of questions about problems nearly every reader can relate to. I don’t know enough about my fellow bloggers and what tags they have or haven’t done, so I nominate anyone who thinks this looks like fun!

You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

A combination of gut instinct and whatever little phase I’m going through. I’ll hit spates of I just want to read classics! or Give me everything that’s super dark and depressing! or YA. I want your cheesiest, fluffiest, most shallow and shiniest YA ever. Then every book I read usually inspires me to pick up something related, no matter what other book I had been intending to read next.

I totally didn’t even blink at “20,000” books on your TBR. That seems a perfectly understandable, relatable number.

You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?

Oh, drop it like it’s hot, drop it like it’s hot. If I’m not loving a book after ten pages I’m outta there. I have too little time and too much else I’m supposed to be doing, I can’t waste precious reading minutes on something lackluster. Same with mediocre TV shows or movies — I take my entertainment time seriously, dang it!

The end of the year is coming and you’re so close yet so far away on your GoodReads challenge. Do you quit or commit?

If I’m seriously in trouble of not reaching my GoodReads goal by like, October or November, I start lowering it by a book or two every week, lol. I want to keep it manageable, more an expectation of how many books I’m going to read, and less a lofty goal I’m going to have to fight in order to reach.

The covers of a series you love DO. NOT. MATCH. How do you cope?

I get a little itchy when I have a combination of paperbacks and hardcovers for a series, but it’s not the biggest deal. The only thing that annoys me is, I accidentally got rid of my first edition Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone paperback, that was all beat up from my repeated childhood readings. I have a hardcover 10th anniversary edition sitting all pristine and untouched beside my battered Chamber of Secrets and Prisoner of Azkaban and … ack. It just doesn’t look right. So I guess “suffer quietly” would be my answer.

Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

Random blogs that I search out by googling “[Book Title] overrated”, lol. Or by complaining to a friend I know isn’t going to bother reading the book anyway.

You’re reading a book and you’re about start crying in public. How do you deal?

Bite the flesh of my thumb, that’s usually my go to “stop crying, Christina, I mean it,” method. I remember reading In Cold Blood in a dentist’s waiting room, and getting to the part where they … well, find the family. I was flinching so bad and taking slow, shallow breaths to keep myself from losing it entirely.

A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a summary on GoodReads? Cry in frustration?

I’ll usually jump right into the sequel, realize how much I’ve forgotten, then pull up a plot summary on Wikipedia to refresh my memory. Usually I don’t have a problem remembering plot points from previous books though, because sequels usually have a handy recap of bits that are going to be important.

You don’t want ANYONE borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people “nope” when they ask?

I have such trust issues with lending out books, with people stealing them or returning them funky, people tend to know now not to ask. (If I could rely on someone to return the books they borrow I might lend things more freely, but … I get super attached to my books! They’re MINE! *clutches an armful of books to my chest*)

You’ve picked up and put down five different books in the past month. How do you get over the reading slump?

Go to a favorite old book for a reread. Harry Potter, Pride and Prejudice, something I know I’m going to enjoy, that’ll remind me why books are awesome. Then I’ll ease back in with either something high interest and fast-paced, or a classic I’ve always heard is beautiful. My reading slumps always come when I’ve read one too many books in a row that I’ve been disappointed by, so I like going back to classics that have entertained and entranced people for decades or centuries, since I know the stories are going to be strong and well-written, and I’m not going to be let down.

There are so many new books coming out that you are dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

I don’t actually read that many new, recent releases, so I can afford to buy the four or five a year that really strike my eye.

After you’ve bought a new book you want to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf until you actually read them?

Anywhere from days to months to years depending on how rapidly I’m collecting books, how voraciously I’m devouring them, and how easily I’m getting distracted by other potential reads. My eyes are bigger than my stomach, when it comes to my ratio of book buying to book reading.

That’s my biggest #readerproblem, for sure.

11 thoughts on “Problems Every Reader Can Relate To

  1. Haha, what a great tag! That first gif, though — so accurate. I have to admit that I always see a through a book. Even if I’m not really liking it. And most of the time I’ll pick up a sequel if there is one, too. I know I must be in the minority here, but if I didn’t, there would always be that small voice at the back of my mind saying, “What if it got BETTER?” Great post!

    Like

  2. iggy23

    This post just reminded me of how little I read over the past four years. I think you’ll be horrified to know that I barely read ten in that period of time. I just don’t have the same love for reading as much as I used to. And ironically, that was because writing took over as my main hobby. When I was younger, I could read up to eight books per week if I was on a roll but now I can hardly manage one in six months. Not really sure if writing caused it but I feel extremely lazy when I want to pick up a book nowadays. I have four and a half perfectly good books waiting for me in my drawers and I can’t seem to find the time to finish that half book. Maybe I feel that reading is not as worth the time as the other stuff I do. Or the passion is gone. But wouldn’t that be sad if I worked in the print industry but don’t read books as often as I should?

    Like

    1. When I first started writing, my reading habit dropped way, way down too. But in the last couple years I’ve found that I actually write a lot better, and a lot more, when I’ve spent an hour or two reading first. Pumps up the creative juices! Plus, it’s a great way to learn how to write, as good books teach you what works, and bad books teach you what doesn’t.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. iggy23

        You’re right, and that’s my reason for reading these past couple of years. I just read to see the style of the author and not really so much for the plot. The story still has to bee good though!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice answers, Christina! Looks like we have very different habits – or “problems” – when it comes to reading. Though we definitely have the last one in common. Sometimes I get to a book right away. Other times, it’s a few weeks… or a few months… or a few years. *lol* And I like your analogy in that answer, too; my eyes are also bigger than my stomach when it comes to my reading appetite.

    Like

    1. Sometimes I get to a book right away. Other times, it’s a few weeks… or a few months… or a few years.

      I would love to reach a point where I’ve read all my TBR books and get to start fresh without a pile of unread books weighing on my guilty conscience … but that hasn’t happened yet, lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. “I have too little time and too much else I’m supposed to be doing.” This. I see so many people talk about how they refuse to DNF anything and while I think that’s a pretty cool goal I could never be that way. (I’m not very patient, aha) The cover thing doesn’t bother me too much either, although I would prefer them to be matching. I’ve never run into the problem where I have to deny someone my books, probably because no one I know really reads. I’m not sure how I would deal with that. Fun post!

    Like

    1. I’m glad you agree! I totally respect the willpower and resilience to keep reading a subpar book for the sake of finishing it, but … NOPE. I couldn’t do that. To me, it’s like eating a meal that’s starting to taste bad — I want to put my fork down and push the plate away, not keep shoveling it into my mouth out of politeness or some off-chance it’s going to have a pleasant aftertaste. Get this junk out of here!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Books & Blogging in May (a wild wrap up appears) | christina writes

  6. Pingback: The ‘Would You Rather’ Book Tag | christina writes

Leave a Reply

