The Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon MEGAPOST OF DOOOOOOOOM (OR JUST READING AND STUFF)

readathon bookstack and felt cat
my readathon book stack! (spoiler alert: I will not get through even HALF of these, probably.)

IT’S HERE! IT’S HERE! THE APRIL 2015 DEWEY’S 24 HOUR READATHON IS FINALLY HERE!!!

The tentative plan right now is to make one big post (of doooooooom) with running updates from the 24-Hour Readathon, rather than bog down the blog with update after update after update. So, if you’re at all interested in my readathon shenanigans, check back here throughout the day! I’ll most likely be liveblogging on Twitter and Instagram as well, if you’d like to follow me over there.

ALSO, check back in in Hour Ten because I’ll be hosting what I hope will be a really fun little mini-challenge. *rubs hands together* Very excited about that.

So, before I crack open the first book, let’s kick things off with the…

PINK line

Opening Meme

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?

Southwest Florida, where it is currently super swelteringly sunny. 90 degrees easily outside. My books might catch on fire.

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?

I’ve got a pretty random grab-bag for this readathon: children’s books (Matilda and Inkheart, which I’m about a hundred pages away from finishing), a graphic novel about North Korea, several YA novels … I’m looking forward to sampling from all of these, and hopefully discovering something great.

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?

I’m keeping it super healthy this readathon (hopefully), so I’ve got lots of carrots, roasted red pepper hummus, plantain chips, and other goodies like that to munch on.

4) Tell us a little something about yourself!

Hi! My name is Christina, I’ve participated in quite a few of these readathons, with last October’s being my most successful. I post writing tips and ramblings about books, so if you like that kind of thing, consider following my blog!

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?

Just about every single readathon I make a goal of doing at least one hour on a piece of exercise equipment — reading from either my stationary bike or my elliptical machine. Because I should really, really take exercise breaks — some yoga or SOMETHING — in between massive stretches of, you know, laying around. AND EVERY YEAR, I DON’T DO IT. So, once again, the thing I want to do differently is incorporate some exercising into my readathon. In fact, I think I’ll start Hour 1 on the stationary bike, because if I say I’ll do it later, I probably won’t …

Oh crap. Now I have to go jump on that bike. I’ve said it, I’ve written it down. BAH!

Happy Readathon, everyone! I’ll check in with you later!

PINK line

hOur two

Pages read: 20 of Inkheart
Reading update: yeah, totally fell asleep for the first half hour. It always takes me a little while to get into the full readathon-swing.

Hour two Mini challenge: Classic Words of Wisdom

janeeyre

For the Classic Words of Wisdom mini-challenge, I’ve chosen the above quote from Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. I love this quote — so often you find literary heroines who rely on others, especially their love interests, to define their happiness and their strength. This quote speaks of power and self-sufficiency, believing in your own agency and your right to make your own decisions. I think its language is lovely, and its message outstanding. (And this image! How gorgeous is that?I found it here, but I don’t know if that’s the original creator or not.)

That’s all from me this hour! I hope everyone’s gotten off to a good start. 😀

PINK line

Hour Four

inkheartread

Pages read: overall, about 66 pages of Inkheart. I have ~35 left. I spent Hour 3 taking a shower, eating breakfast:

breakfast
a really good-looking breakfast.

and generally getting myself together. but now I’m switching out my comfy readathon clothes for some exercise sweats, and I’m spending Hour Four on my stationary bike. (Or maybe elliptical, but I think that’ll make it hard to change the pages.)

My goal for the hour: finish Inkheart and move onto a new book!

PINK line

Hour Five

EXERCISINGWHAT

I exercised! I’m dripping sweat right now, actually. I did a half hour & four miles on the bike; I’ve got a tentative plan to do another half hour later in the readathon, to wake myself up, but … we’ll see if I do that.

In reading news: I’ve read 100 pages so far today, and I finished my first book! Inkheart, which I loved, but I kiiiinda wish it had been a little shorter and more concisely written. 4/5 stars, says me.

Mini Challenges: I participated in the Casting Couch challenge over on My Little Pocketbooks!

Next book: Well, I’m thinking Matilda, to keep the bookish theme going. My mailman just delivered another bookish book, The Storied Life of A.J. Firky, so I might give that a swing soon too. Has anyone read it? Or — what’s been your favorite book you’ve read so far? Tell me, tell me, tell me! 

PINK line

Hour 6

matilda01

Getting tired yet? I’m loving my new read, Matilda. I haven’t read a Roald Dahl children’s book for years and years, and I’ve never read this one before. It’s nasty and clever and hilarious. And perfect for a readathon — short and bookish-ly themed!

matilda02

Pages Read: 73 this hour, making for 173 overall. Matilda shouldn’t take me more than another two hours, I should think.

Books Finished: Inkheart

PINK line

Hour 8

How are we already at Hour 8??? I have to admit, I’m starting to fade and feel like taking an afternoon nap — but I’m hosting a mini-challenge in Hour 10, so if I want to take a nap, I’d better do it really soon! In reading news, I finished Matilda! It was delightful.

Pages Read: 323, over all!

Books finished: Inkheart, Matilda

What’s next? Potentially, sleepytimes. As for books … I can’t decide! Maybe Counting by 7s, by Holly Sloan?

PINK line

Hour 10

So I’ve totally been asleep. Shhh, don’t tell anyone. But never mind that right now, Hour 10 is upon us, which means it’s time for my mini challenge: Plan a Bookish Party!!!! Get your keesters right over to that post and start thinking about decorations and party favors. Ahh! I hope people like it!

Pages Read: Still 323. Ooooops.

Books finished: Inkheart, Matilda

What’s Next? 1) checking out everyone’s amazing bookish parties, first of all. but also, I think

Also, I participated in this Treasure Hunt mini-challenge, where we were to find book covers featuring a tree, snow, and a weapon:

treasurehunt

I’m about 60 pages into Counting By 7’s by Holly Sloan, and it’s very cute so far! See you guys later!

PINK line

Hour 12

Obligatory “WE’Re HALFWAY THEEEEERE OHHH OH! living on a prayer okay stop it christina”

I’m only just now getting back into my reading groove, after some napping and nachos and general piddling around. (I started off today so healthy, you guys. And it went so wrong so so quickly.) Anyway, I’m 85 pages into Counting by 7’s by Holly Sloan, and am hoping to get a lot more reading done this hour. But! I also need to read through the entries and pick a winner for my plan a party mini challenge! And complete the following:

The mid-event survey

1. What are you reading right now?
Counting By 7s by Holly Sloan. Super fast, interesting read. And after Matilda, it’s cool to read another book about a precocious genius! I’m liking this theme that’s developed!
2. How many books have you read so far?
I’ve read 1 whole book, then finished a book I’d been reading for the last week, so I guess I’ll go ahead and say 2. (Even though it feels a little like cheating.)
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?
I’ve got a graphic novel called Pyongyang that’ll be an interesting change of pace, plus I’d like to start either Perfume or A Sense of an Ending, which seem like they’ll be far more serious than my other readathon fare so far.
4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?
My only interruptions are when I’ve totally interrupted myself. I took quite a few cat naps, and spent an entire hour writing (it’s hard to take a day off from Camp NaNoWriMo!) I’m glad for the breaks, though, if I tried to spend the entire 24 hours reading nonstop, my eyeballs would probably fall out.
5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?
This was my first readathon hosting a mini-challenge, and that was a LOT of fun. (Even though I had email notifications turned on for my phone, and it was kiiiinda hard to nap with the phone buzzing and whirring every TWO SECONDS OMG SO MANY PEOPLE PARTICIPATED.) It’s been really fun to see everyone’s creativity come out. I love this community!

That’s it for now! I think I’ll take my reading outside before it gets too dark out there. Happy reading everybody!!

PINK line

Hour 18

snowwhite

WOW. OKAY. *SLAPS MY CHEEKS* HELLO AGAIN, WORLD.

I’ve definitely been asleep. For a while. I don’t know what I’ve even read… I’ve read about 170 pages into Counting by 7s. I thought I’d have it finished by midnight … but I slept right through midnight, so

Never fear. Maybe a nap in the middle of the readathon is just what I needed to keep myself awake through the final stretch! There’s still six or seven hours left of this thing — plenty of time to plow through another book or two. MOTIVATION, I’VE GOT IT. LET’S DO THIS. LET’S TAKE A SHOWER, EAT A SNACK, KILL A GUY I MEAN READ A BOOK!!!!!

PINK line

Hour 19

Pages Read: 586
Books Finished: Inkheart, Matilda
Current Read: Counting By 7s

Still ploughing (plowing?) through Counting by 7s, which is a wonderful book that I’m enjoying a lot. I really do think I might take a quick shower to wake myself up a little more.

ALSO, I’m finally participating in another mini-challenge! Unfortunately, I’m kind of cheating. For Shelfie, you’re to take a picture of your bookshelf and post it — except, it’s super dark in my room, and I can’t get a good picture that isn’t grainy and awful. So, I’m using one of my very favorite pics, from a room tour I did last year:


bonus:

Everything still looks exactly the same, only I have a *few* new books on the TBR shelf up there at the top. (between the hippo and the snitch)

I should really do another shelf tour post. I have a whole closet I converted into a book closet, that’s worth some pictures! Anyway, back to reading…

PINK line

Hour 20

How are there only 4 hours left??? That seems insane to me. Though, to be fair, I’m in a complete dandelion daze right now because Counting By 7s was utterly amazing. I spent the last few hours alternating between smiling and sobbing.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Pages Read: 701

Books Finished: Inkheart, Matilda, Counting by 7s

What’s next? I’m serious about taking a shower (which I suggested about two hours ago but am only now getting around to …) With four hours left, I’m not entirely sure how to break up my time. The Pyongyang graphic novel might not take long to read, though it’ll certainly be heavy. A Sense of an Ending is only a hundred pages or so, but that might be heavy too, I don’t really know much about it? I want to start Perfume as well, but the type might be too small for this late into the delirium. I’ll take a shower and see what happens next.

I might have a second helping of nachos. That’s just a bad idea, I know it is. But.

Anyone still awake out there???

PINK line

AND IT’S ALL OVER…

So, I didn’t make it the full 24 hours. Shortly after my Hour 20 update, I started reading the Pyongyang graphic novel and … next thing I knew, I was dreaming that I was in a swimming pool, getting lectured by some unknown person about the horrible conditions of North Korea???

It’s super late, but I’ll do the final survey just to close out what was probably the most incredible readathon I’ve participated in yet:

End of Event Meme:

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? Probably Hour 20, when I just could not keep my eyes open and kept nodding off.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? I always say Alan Bennett’s An Uncommon Reader — it’s super short, super cute, and SUPER bookish. I didn’t read them for the readathon, but Marie Rutkoski’s The Winner’s Curse and The Winner’s Crime, plus Jandy Nelson’s I’ll Give You the Sun are three books that were HIGH interest for me when I read them, so I’d say they would make good readathon picks!!
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Maybe a list at the end of all the prize winners in one spot, maybe one post updated throughout the day, so if we fall asleep we don’t have to go scrolling through six hours of posts to see if we won any door prizes? Otherwise, this was a well-run readathon, as always!
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? I’d never done a mini-challenge before, I’d always been too intimidated to take on such a challenge, so I was really pleased with how that turned out.
  5. How many books did you read? 3!
  6. What were the names of the books you read? Inkheart, Matilda, and Counting by 7s.
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? I don’t even know, I loved all three of them!
  8. Which did you enjoy least? DON’T MAKE ME. Inkheart’s ending was pretty slow, though, so maybe I’d say that?
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? I wasn’t a cheerleader! I should’ve been, I know the cheerleaders were woefully outnumbered this year. 😦
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Oh, I’ll totally participate again. I’m probably going to be at school next October, so I might not be able to do a whole 24 hour shebang, but I’d love to host another Mini-Challenge!

Okay, that’s it. It’s all over, folks. *weeps* *yawns* *starts to get cozy in these very warm, very soft blankets* I’m going to need a day to recover from all this SLEEP DEPRIVATION AND EYE STRAIN.

It was totally worth it, though.

PINK line

29 thoughts on “The Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon MEGAPOST OF DOOOOOOOOM (OR JUST READING AND STUFF)

  1. Cait

    Exercise AND reading?!! Woah, I admire you! 😄 I listen to audios while I walk sometimes, so that’s helpful, eheh, (except that audios take foreeever to get through). OH. I want to read The Shock of the Fall so bad!! I can’t wait to see what you think of it. ^-^ GOOD LUCK WITH THIS CHALLENGE!!
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

    1. Well, I haven’t gotten around to exercising YET so I’m not quite worthy of that admiration. 😄 I need to try audiobooks more often; my problem is I usually want to read faster than the audiobook person talks, and I get impatient!

      Like

  2. What a great idea! I have an audio book to finish I should really think about that! I am cheering today for Mr. Popper’s team. I am not sure if you are on my list but have a great read-a-thon!

    Lisa

    Like

  3. Exercise, reading, and healthy snacks. I look up to you! Good luck with your goals, and enjoy yourself!

    I’m also now suffering a bout of envy for your awesome weather. I had planned to go for a walk while listening to a book, but there’s a raging storm outside 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 40s and 50s? I’m so jealous! We had winter for about a month, then a nice breezy spring for … all of a week. *cries*

      Yes, try exercising! I always feel better afterwards, even if I feel angry and resentful during. 😄

      Like

    1. I’m about to eat breakfast, and then I’m going to spend the rest of the next hour with my book and my bike! (BUT THANK YOU FOR CHECKING IN ON THAT, I TOTALLY NEED SOMEONE TO KEEP ME HONEST)

      Like

  4. That may be the best looking food I’ve seen. Cheering you from Texas and I stopped and went to the gym too. Perfect for listening for me. Have a great rest of the day! Go Team Popper!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Irene

    Irene from Team Mr. Popper here. I hope you’re enjoying the readathon so far. Please remember that it’s all about having fun, so if you feel more like snacking than reading, then go ahead. This event is the perfect excuse for snacking!
    I’m sure you’ll reach your goal. You can do this!

    Like

  6. Your first time reading Matilda – how wonderful! I love that book.

    The nap was a great idea. It’s going to come in handy soon.

    Keep on keeping on! Cheering for you from #TeamPopper!

    Like

  7. Pingback: ten characters I would totally share a library with | christina writes

  8. Pingback: April Mini-Reviews and May TBR | christina writes

  9. Pingback: The Endless Possibilities Readathon! | christina writes

Leave a Reply

