“Nope. Not Reading That.” Bookish Deal-Breakers

BrokeandBookish recently made a post about deal-breakers — elements of a book that snap that final straw on the camel’s back and turn you off reading a book for good. I commented over there with a few of my deal-breakers, but thought I’d share the rest of them with you!

It used to take a lot for me to put down a book after I’d gotten a good ways into it. I had this stubborn idea that I must soldier on and finish everything I’d started, no matter how much I hated it.

annoyedchandler

After suffering through one too many mediocre books, though, I’ve made my peace with leaving novels unfinished. In fact, now I’m a little too zealous about dropping a book if it ceases to interest me. I try to give every story 25 pages to make a good impression, but if I can’t even get through the first few paragraphs … down, down, down it goes.

Here are some of my most notable deal-breakers:

Continue reading ““Nope. Not Reading That.” Bookish Deal-Breakers”

