Beautiful People: April Edition. All About Siblings! (Sort of.)

”PAPERFURY”This month’s Beautiful People link-up for writers is themed around National Sibling Day, and all the questions are supposed to be about a sibling relationship in your novel. UNFORTUNATELY ALL MY CHARACTERS SEEM TO BE ONLY CHILDREN??? I literally can’t think of one character (of dozens) in my WIP series that has a brother or sister. That’s probably something I should work on.

Anyway, that crisis is for another time. INSTEAD, I’m going to be taking two of my main characters, Charley and Simon, best friends since they were little teeny tiny kids, and answer the questions about their brotherly-esque relationship.

1. What is the first memory they have of each other?

I actually have that in the book, sort of! Here’s a little tidbit (grown Charley is watching a memory of himself at five years old, meeting Simon for the first time while playing in his backyard):

“You’re going to get worms in your hair,” said a small, accusing voice from over the fence.

The little Charley dropped his hands. A number of leaves and small sticks landed in his hair in a spiky, dirty crown. He stared at the fence, but couldn’t see anyone. Standing on his tiptoes didn’t help. Charley tramped across the lawn, shedding leaves as he went.

Between the pickets of the fence, he spotted a nose.

2. Describe their relationship in 3 words.

moderately healthy codependence

3. What kind of things do they like to do together?

I have another excerpt! Prior to the start of the series, where they now mostly spend their time running for their lives and ~saving the world~, Charley and Simon mostly just hung out, their lives so intertwined they didn’t really go out of their way to do anything special. Here’s Charley about to be reunited with Simon, seeing Simon’s front porch for the first time in weeks:

Charley ran to Simon’s gate, fumbled with the catch, and hastened up the path. Simon’s front porch was cluttered with hanging ferns, half-melted candles, and wicker furniture that had seen better days. To Charley, the creaky boards and peeling paint were beautiful, bringing him back to muggy summer nights sitting out here decimating six-packs and waving away mosquitos; to Halloweens spent doling out Snickers bars to trick-or-treaters; to every day he stomped the dirt off his shoes onto this porch and walked through the front door without knocking.

4. What was their biggest fight?

Oooh, I’m actually in the midst of writing that fight right now! Charley thinks Simon acts selfishly and rips the rug out from under Charley, while Simon thinks that just because he was doing something for himself, doesn’t mean it was selfish. No one’s clearly in the right or wrong, which makes the conflict all the harder to resolve.

5. How far would they go to save each other?

Oh, very, very far. Charley, after a raider attack that put Simon in jeopardy:

“Ol, he can’t get hurt.”

“He won’t.”

“I’m serious.” Charley could hear the frantic gasps of the two raiders, could feel the warmth of their blood spreading across the ground. And he could see, quite clearly, that knife pressed to Simon’s throat. “I will lose everything.”

6. What are their pet peeves about each other?

lol in the book I’m writing right now, Charley’s mad at Simon, so everything he does peeves him.

lookatthat

Regularly, though, I’d say Simon’s tendency to constantly ask questions grates on Charley, since he’d rather leap into action while Simon wants to know everything about a situation first, which sometimes (oftentimes) brings him to the conclusion that they shouldn’t go with Charley’s plan, and do something safer and more logical. Simon’s also a person that keeps things very neat and tidy and organized, so Charley’s tendency to dump everything everywhere has got to piss him off.

7. What are their favorite things about each other?

I would say Charley loves Simon’s heart, his constant strive to forgive people and see the best in them. Simon’s favorite things about Charley would be his humor, kindness, and unfaltering instinct to help people.

8. What traits do they share? Mannerisms, clothing, quirks, looks, etc?

I’m not sure!! I spend a lot of time in the book talking about their differences, I’ve kind of taken their similarities for granted…

9. Who has the strongest personality?

That’s a really hard question, actually. Simon seems like he’d be the pushover, because he’s sweeter and quieter, but if he takes a stance on something, there is nothing Charley can say to divert him. Whereas Charley, who is generally loud, and defiant, and nearly always running off to do something stupid, caves pretty quickly to his friends. So, maybe to outsiders Charley has the stronger personality, but within their relationship, if Simon said jump, Charley would leap so high he’d hit the moon.

10. How does their relationship change throughout your story?

Their relationship goes through a lot throughout the series, growing, strengthening, deteriorating, changing. There’s good and bad in store for these guys.

PINKline

I loved that! Some of these questions I’ve never thought about before, and it’s gotten me in the mood to do some writing today! (I’m falling so far behind with Camp NaNoWriMo already, good lord.) What about you guys? Do your characters have siblings? Or are they all only-child loners? What was the last book you read where an MC had siblings? Leave a comment!

EDIT: Wow. About twenty seconds after posting this, I suddenly remembered I have TWO different pairs of sisters in my books that I could’ve talked about. How did I — I wrote down every character I could think of and couldn’t remember a single sibling for any of them! Well. Poo. Anyway. That’s a good question: have you guys ever completely forgotten that your character DOES have a sibling??? 😛

15 thoughts on “Beautiful People: April Edition. All About Siblings! (Sort of.)

  1. I just found your blog through the linkup. I really enjoyed this post! Your excerpts are so great–the writing is refreshing. I think it’s easy to forget about siblings. A lot of the time, the fall into that “background and extra detail about this character that isn’t really essential but I feel I need to know anyway” category. Don’t feel bad. =) Besides, sometimes friendships can be more like family than actual family (which is why I wrote about my MC and her friend instead of her and her siblings). Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! And yeah, it’s definitely hard to keep siblings, cousins, aunts and uncles in mind — I’m writing what’s essentially a portal fantasy, too, so it’s just been tidier to have characters without a lot of familial ties, considering they’re about to shoot off into another world! Friends that become family is one of my very favorite tropes, anyway. 🙂

      Like

  2. Cait

    OMG YOUR ANSWER TO #5 THO. :’) That is super sweet, I love it when siblings (or, well, best friends) have that kind of relationship in books. xD These two sound like EPIC BFF. Also…um, yes I have forgotten I’ve written stuff. I forget a lot. >_< I've forgotten entire family trees! MY BAD. So you're not alone. 😉
    Thanks for joining in our linkup!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES, TOTALLY EPIC BFFS! *smashes their faces together* they’re so sweet.

      So glad I’m not the only one who forgets SLIGHTLY IMPORTANT THINGS LIKE FAMILY MEMBERS. *headdesk* writing is … hard.

      Like

  3. Liza Barrett

    Isn’t it amazing to realize that you’ve forgotten something as simple as making some of your characters have siblings? I came to that realization as a result of this prompt too!

    I LOVE the relationship you’ve described here! And the excerpt for #1 w/ little Charley and Simon is adorable! And the pet peeve question is great! I can totally picture the two arguing with each other over planning vs rushing in.

    ~ Lize @ Classy Cat Books

    Like

    1. Isn’t it amazing to realize that you’ve forgotten something as simple as making some of your characters have siblings? I came to that realization as a result of this prompt too!

      So glad it’s not just me! There’s so much to keep in mind for every single character, sometimes things slip through the cracks! And sometimes those things are other human beings…

      I LOVE the relationship you’ve described here! And the excerpt for #1 w/ little Charley and Simon is adorable!

      Thank you so much!! I love writing these two; I really enjoy writing strong friendships between characters who genuinely like each other. Antagonism is fun too, but I’ll take good ol’ friendliness and supportiveness over it any day!

      Like

  4. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, I love the answer to #1!!! It’s so adorable, especially the line about seeing Simon’s nose through the fence. I also like #6 and #7. It makes complete sense that they’d be annoyed with each other for their different approaches to things (jumping into actions vs. thinking it over carefully). They really seem like little boys I’d meet in my neighborhood. 🙂

    I just posted my Beautiful People post today, if you’re interested in reading it. But there are a couple pairs of siblings in my book’s world, and the MC herself would have been an older sister if her family was still alive… 😮

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! I love that image of a little button nose poking between two fence posts. *heart melts*

      They really seem like little boys I’d meet in my neighborhood.
      Best compliment ever!

      I’ll head over to your post, I’m loving reading about all the little families everyone’s created!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Nice post! I especially liked the excerpt of little them, and this bit… “So, maybe to outsiders Charley has the stronger personality, but within their relationship, if Simon said jump, Charley would leap so high he’d hit the moon.” Great imagery there. 🙂

    They sound like great guys, and friends… I wish I knew more about them and their story! Anyway, I may just be the exception… I NEVER forget siblings, cousins, or others in my series!! (my newer, unrelated book might be a different story, but whatever 😛 ) I tend to forget things like birthdays, or favorite things. Anyway, I really enjoyed reading this. 🙂

    Like

  6. Pingback: Beautiful People, May Edition | christina writes

Leave a Reply

