Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon – The Kick Off

bookstack
my readathon TBR shelf!

The Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon is about to begin, and I’m actually up in time to hear the starting gun go off! (Just because I’m awake now doesn’t mean I won’t pass out in 20 minutes and sleep through most of the morning hours, though, let’s be real.)

To kick things off, the Kick Off Meme!

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?
The sunny, if humid, Southwest Florida!

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?
I’m looking forward to finishing Shirley Jackson’s The Bird’s Nest. It’s a delightfully chilling book about a young woman with multiple personalities–several of them struggling for dominance over the others. Shirley Jackson was the queen of subtle, realistic-but-something-is-off, skin-crawling horror.

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?
I’ve got a big box of Healthy Surprise goodies to munch on, though I’ll probably give in to some cheese sticks or nachos before very long.

4) Tell us a little something about yourself!
Howdy! I’m Christina, I’m 24 years old, and I’m writing a book series! I just passed the 50K mark for Camp NaNoWriMo this month, but some of my readathon time will be devoted to writing.

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?
Don’t push yourself too hard. Set realistic goals. Take breaks!! If a book is boring, feel free to drop it! And remember, there are going to be people who are completing 2 books an hour while you’re in Hour Six, struggling to finish your first. Not only does everyone read at their own pace, but everyone gets something different out of the readathon. Don’t stress yourself out comparing your progress to someone else’s!

All right, that’s it from me for a while. For live updates, check out my Twitter and Instagram. For discussion — Are you participating in today’s readathon? What book are you starting with? I’m going to try to finish The Bird’s Nest, hopefully before I fall back asleep…

4 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon – The Kick Off

  1. Hope you are enjoying the readathon so far! Let me know if you get to The Handmaid’s Tale – it’s one of my favorite books and great material for a readathon.

    #TeamWordsworth

    Like

  2. I’ve been wanting to try Shirley Jackson myself! She sounds like an author that I would definitely enjoy 🙂 I hope that you are having a GREAT read-a-thon filled with good books!

    Happy Reading!

    *Team Wordsworth

    Like

    1. yellowhairedrobot

      I recommend starting with Jackson’s We Have Always Lived in the Castle — it’s real short, REAL creepy, and it’s one of those books where every sentence just feels *perfect.*

      Happy reading to you, too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

